Thank You Stephen Covey

You can’t talk your way out of problems you behave yourself into.
~ Stephen Covey

June 2,2014
Sunset – June 2,2014

I read that quote in Stephen Covey’s book, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People as a part of my Hour Of Power yesterday morning, and those words hit me like a right hook to the jaw. Worth reading again and again until it sinks in –

You can’t talk your way out of problems you behave yourself into.
~ Stephen Covey

Every problem I have today is a direct result of my own behavior. I have talked a good game, but my behavior has not changed much. As a result, the same old problems persist. The only way to defeat my problems once and for all, and create the life I was born for, is to shut my trap and change my behavior.

I started yesterday, June 2, 2014, with a whole slew of action that I have a tendency to neglect – nutrition, exercise, budgets, donations, scullery work, and I even made time to get out and shoot some photos (as pictured above). And I will continue with this principle,… well… forever.

Talk is cheap. Talk means nothing – unless, and until, there is a change in behavior.

Behavior first. Talk later. That’s how we do it around here from now on.

Leave a Reply

