Shaky Foundations

Today I am basking in the afterglow (read: tending to my wounds) after finishing Samuel Smiles’ classic book, Self-help. If you are looking for fluffy, feel good, platitude regurgitating, politically correct personal development – this ain’t it!

This is hardcore! The message in this book might be equated to being punched hard in the jaw (repeatedly).

And that’s exactly what I need!

Perhaps it’s what you need too?!

Consider this –

Afterglow
In the Afterglow

And our individual character is completely within our control regardless of circumstance.

Here are some principles we don’t hear much about these days –

  • Virtue
  • Temperence
  • Uprightness
  • Industry
  • Thrift
  • Steadfastness
  • Integrity
  • Self-Control
  • Self-Denial
  • Self-Reliance

They may sound a little old-fashioned, but these are foundational elements of a quality individual character. Our collective character being the sum of all of our individual characters combined.

I wish I could say I was strong in all of these areas myself, but I range from merely fair in some, to complete and utter failure in others. Certainly not the quality individual character that I aspire to.

Collectively we live in a regressive society which celebrates debauchery and degrades itself at every opportunity. The idea of quality individual character is often treated with disdain, and even open mockery. As our collective character erodes, the foundations of our liberty are deteriorating at an astonishing (and ever increasing) rate.

The truth is, our liberty is interdependent. Your liberty is dependent upon my individual character (which, as we learned earlier, has not been up to snuff). My liberty is dependent upon your individual character. Each of us needs the other to be our best if we hope to maintain our liberty.

We must take a stand!

Yes, the foundations of liberty are shaky (at best), but I believe with a return to these foundational principles the foundations of our liberty can be made solid once again.

We can still turn it around, but we must act now.

I’ll do my part. Will you do yours?

Leave a Reply

