Fly First / Talk Later

“Five seagulls are sitting on a dock. One decides to fly away, How many seagulls are left?”

“Well…four.”

“No,” Jones responded. “There are still five. Deciding to fly away and actually flying away are two very different things.”

“Listen carefully to me. Despite popular belief to the contrary, there is absolutely no power in intention. The seagull may intend to fly away, may decide to do so, may talk with the other seagulls about how wonderful it is to fly, but until the seagull flaps his wings and takes to the air, he is still on the dock. There’s no difference between that gull and all the others. Likewise, there is no difference in the person who intends to do things differently and the one who never thinks about it in the first place. Have you ever considered how often we judge ourselves by our intentions while we judge others by their actions? Yet intention without action is an insult to those who expect the best from you.” ~ Andy Andrews, The Noticer

If you read yesterday’s post, you know that last night I sat myself down, cranked up the Beethoven radio, and put together my own Christmas gift to myself – a plan for a better life.

And while it still needs some refinment, I am happy with my effort thus far. I did the work necessary to begin moving forward immediately toward my specific major outcomes.

My reward last night, after having done that hard work, was to pick up Andy Andrews’ wonderful book, The Noticer and do some inspirational reading. Little did I know that I was going receive a hard lesson (presented above). One which is directly relevant to myself, my situation, and the work I had just done. Jones (the character in the book) could have been speaking to me (and perhaps he was) when he spoke those cryptic words. That’s how closely I identify with them.

You see, I have far too often been the seagull in the story. Always talking of flying, always intending to fly, always dreaming of how wonderful it is to fly, but never actually flying.

Throughout the years I’ve put any number of plans together, always with the full intention of acting on them – I’ve talked, I’ve intended, I’ve dreamed, and then proceeded not to act. And until I act, there’s no difference between me and somebody who does not even bother to put a plan together at all. It’s shameful really.

So what’s to make this time any different than those times? One thing, and one thing alone must be different – I must flap my wings, lift off from the dock, and take to the air. I must act now!!!

I can always run my beak after I fly.

Fly Like a Seagull

This lesson is so important that moving forward from here I am making it my primary mission here at The Lionheart.

Leave a Reply

