3 AM Wake-Up Call

Last night I did not sleep well. Not at all.

It started out well enough. I climbed into bed relatively early, with the plan of getting a good night’s sleep and a run first thing this morning.

It was not to be.

Initially sleep came quickly, and I was sleeping well,..

Until 3 AM.

That’s when the middle of the night phantoms arrived. Unseen visitors that woke me with a start and proceeded to grip me in state of anxiety for the better part of 3 hours.

Anxiety and sleep make decidedly poor bedfellows.

As I lay there unable to sleep, aside from giving me some unexpected reading time, it gave me time to think about my life. Why am I being seized by this fit of anxiety? And how can I use the experience to my benefit?

The message that was received is that I’m not doing what I could/should be doing in my life at this point. If I were doing what I could/should be doing I would not have any trouble sleeping soundly and contentedly throughout the night.

Perhaps these unseen visitors weren’t phantoms at all, but instead agents of positive change sent for my betterment. Sometimes that’s what it takes to get through to a hard-headed individual such as myself.

One of my favorite fictional characters shared a similar late night experience –

Scrooge reverently disclaimed all intention to offend or any knowledge of having wilfully “bonneted” the Spirit at any period of his life. He then made bold to inquire what business brought him there.

“Your welfare!” said the Ghost.

Scrooge expressed himself much obliged, but could not help thinking that a night of unbroken rest would have been more conducive to that end. The Spirit must have heard him thinking, for it said immediately:

“Your reclamation, then. Take heed!”

My reclamation indeed! Let there never be another day without action toward my aspirations.

To be continued.

Leave a Reply

