18 Minutes in Plank Position

I want to have a strong physical core.

I believe that a lot of the physical beakdown that happens to people as they age is due to weak core strength. Most people never do the work necessary to strengthen their core, and they pay the price later in life.

I don’t aspire to be one of these people. I intend to be standing tall and strong right up until the day I drop dead.

For this reason I have incorporated plank exercises into my daily Hour Of Power 3 days a week (rotated every other day with push-ups and Sunday off).

I initially began with 6 minutes total (four 30 second sets of three  – 1 front, 1 right, 1 left x 4),

Through consistency of effort I have managed to make significant improvement. I have now worked up to 18 minutes total (four 1:30 sets of three),

And yet, there are still days when I just don’t feel like it.

Today was one of those days. The Will to Fail was in full beast mode, and I was doing my best to give myself permission to skip the planks.

Then I remembered something Mel Robbins once said in an interview with Darren Hardy of Success Magazine

The one thing I want you to take away is, you’re never going to feel like it. 

Stop waiting around. Stop waiting around for motivation. Stop waiting for someone else to do it. Stop waiting to feel like it. 

The difference between people that feel stuck, and people that feel powerful and great in their lives, is that the people who feel powerful and great get up in the morning and do the stuff they don’t feel like doing so that they can have what they want.

It’s really that simple.

This is, without-a-doubt, one of the most powerful pieces of information I have ever received, and it’s what got beyond the Will to Fail and down into plank position today.

And my core is 18 minutes stronger as a result 😉

Leave a Reply

